FORMER SYNAGOGUE
- Program
- Subject
- Location
- Lat/Long
- Grant Recipient
-
NYS Historic
-
Religion, Site
- Northville Tpk/East Ave, Riverhead, NY 11901, USA
- 40.920864, -72.662166
-
Jewish Historical Society of Long Island
FORMER SYNAGOGUE
Inscription
FORMER SYNAGOGUETHE BROTHERHOOD OF JEWS OF
RIVERHEAD EST. 1911, DEDICATED
SYNAGOGUE 1924. ACQUIRED BY
S. HARDING & SONS AND USED AS
FURNITURE WAREHOUSE 1947-1986.
WILLIAM G. POMEROY FOUNDATION 2024
In 1911, the Brotherhood of Jews of Riverhead was established in the town of Riverhead in Suffolk County, New York. At first, the congregation conducted religious services in the homes and businesses of its members. Then, in 1924, a new synagogue in Riverhead was constructed. The building was officially dedicated on September 21 of that year.
In 1947, the congregation, then named Temple Israel of Riverhead, relocated to a newly built synagogue. The former synagogue had been sold in February 1947 to furniture dealers S. Harding & Sons. The head of the business, Samuel Harding was a founding member of the Brotherhood of Jews of Riverhead in 1911, and he and his family were lifelong members of the congregation. S. Harding & Sons used the former synagogue building as a furniture warehouse until 1986.
As of 2024, the former 1924 synagogue still stands as a reminder of where the center for Jewish life existed in Riverhead a century ago.